Life in Death

I know a family who are experiencing the worst kind of loss right now – their (almost) week old baby passed away last night. The even worse part – they knew it was going to happen before she was even born. My heart breaks for my fellow mom, and her family. I cannot even begin to imagine what they are going through, or process their feelings. I know they’ve been amazingly strong and brave. I know they loved that little girl more than a lot of people feel who live long lives. She was beautiful. She was a tiny. She fought to the end.

Thinking about this sweet baby and her mama, and how she knew that her girl was coming into the world for just a moment, only makes me think about how that must have been how God felt about Jesus. He knew before he was born into this world that he was going to die – that he would only be here for a short time. How heartbroken God must have been, to know the plan for His son. But God is selfless, and He loves us so much that He gave up His sweet son. He knew we needed that much love – how we need it every day.

I will never understand why babies die or how that factors in to God’s plan, and I don’t think He expects me to. I don’t think any of us can ever really wrap our minds around that. I do know that this baby brought a family together to rally around her and love her for every second they could.

As we all go into this Easter weekend, I hope we can all reflect on this great love that we get to be a part of. That because of God’s greatest sacrifice of letting his baby die, we get to experience life. I know that without a love that big, things like death would be impossible to handle. Thank  you, God, for your amazing love.

gandi

Leave a Reply

