securedownload

I love this lyric so much. It embodies so many feelings and actions at once. However, my take on this lyric is probably different from what it’s sweet writer intended.

When I hear that lyric, I think about my boldness in Christ. I think about how in the Bible, God calls us to be brave for him. In Psalm 31:24 it says, “Be brave. Be strong. Don’t give up.”  Later on we read in 1 Corinthians 16:13 “Keep your eyes open, hold tight to your convictions, give it all you’ve got, be resolute, and love without stopping.” Again in 2 Timothy 1:7, “God doesn’t want us to be shy with his gifts, but bold and loving and sensible.” And my favorite comes from 1 John 4:18, “There is no room in love for fear. ” God is love, so cast all fear aside.

Yes, in life sometimes it is hard to be brave, especially when it comes to God. Someone might laugh at me. Someone might think I’m crazy. Someone might find me less cool. I don’t know about you, but I’m not worried about what the “someones” are thinking. I’m focused on how my Father sees me. If he sees me as a timid flicker or a lighthouse. If he sees me being bold in my love for Him and the world.

Let’s be brave in our walks. Let’s be brave for Him.

Leave a Reply

