Simplify

“A pretentious, showy life is an empty life;
    a plain and simple life is a full life.” 

Proverbs 13:7

All Caleb and I have ever wanted is to live simple lives. Live with the basics. No frills. No luxury. We don’t want “the american dream.” We don’t want to put ourselves in debt. We don’t want a space to fill with things that we don’t need – things we never use. We’re tired of working to pay for a life that we don’t want.

We have had many conversations, baring our hearts to one another, finding that we want all the same things. The same lifestyle. The same adventure.

I am so tired of walking through the place we live and seeing so many things. Piles of toys that never get played with. Closets/dressers full of clothes that never get worn. A basement full of who knows what. Things. Things. Things. Why do we have all these things? This is a question that has angered me – that has made me cry out to God in apologies for acquiring so many things while other people go without. It’s too much. I don’t want to do it anymore. I don’t want to continue to buy things just because I have space for it.

The plan we are putting into motion excites me. A way of life that we feel God is leading us to. A way of life that we know many will call us crazy for.

Call us crazy, but we know that it will be a happy, full, beautiful life.

1383922_694014842235_1609420338_n

p.s. I know this plan is kind of vague, but in time we will be able to share more as things develop.

Leave a comment