To Worship

 But the time is coming – it has, in fact, come –
when what you’re called will not matter and where
you go to worship will not matter.


It’s who you are and the way you live that count before God.
Your worship must engage your spirit in the pursuit of truth.
THAT’S the kind of people the Father
is looking out for:
those who are simply and honestly themselves before him in their worship.

John 4:23

It’s a common misconception among the “Christian” people that the only way to worship God is with your hands raised in a church building on a Sunday morning during music. I just don’t buy into that – I never have. Now, don’t misinterpret what I’m saying here. I’m not saying that people who do that are wrong or they’re not really worshiping, because I definitely believe in worshiping that way. I’ve just always found other places where I find myself truly placing myself before God in worship. It’s usually not in a church building on Sunday (I do love me some praise and worship though). This verse in the bible really resonates with me – that God is looking for those who are honestly themselves before him in worship. This can happen ANYWHERE.

Think about where you feel closest to God. Maybe it’s in nature – do you just stand in awe of him in his creation and worship that way. Maybe it’s alone in your thoughts – when you can really focus on him in a quiet moment. Maybe it’s playing an instrument – maybe this is your gift from God and you show him thanks by worshiping him with it.

I am a musical person. I always have been. By musical person I don’t mean I play an instrument (I leave that to Caleb, that’s his gift). I mean that music is my connection to God – it’s when I feel closest to him. I can be listening to a song in my car, dancing with Olive in our living room, or my personal favorite: at a concert. By concert I don’t mean winter jam or a christian concert. One of my favorite bands, mewithoutYou, is always my favorite worshiping experiences. Yes, I know what the bands personal beliefs are, and if you know how to decode their songs you can easily see that they’re reflections of the bible. They don’t market themselves as a Christian band – they are in the “secular” realm of music. That’s the beautiful thing about them as a band. They write the most beautiful, poetic, heart-wrenching, on your knees lyrics. Seeing them live, a true worship experience for me. I have been so blessed to see them 3 times in my life, and I look forward to the next and the next. From the minute they step on stage, to the last note, I am in full on worship mode. I don’t even know what is going on around me. In a room jam packed full of people, in a bar. That’s where I find my worship. So if you ever see me at a mewithoutYou concert, I’ll probably have my eyes closed, hands in the air, dancing around, singing at the top of my lungs. I won’t know that you’re there, so you’ll have to hit me to get my attention. haha.

The point of all this, is I hope that somewhere in your life you find a moment to worship God. It’s so important. It doesn’t matter how. It doesn’t matter where. Just be yourself, before a unique and loving God. He will know your heart. He will know your worship – even if everyone around you is probably looking at you like a crazy person.

<if you have a moment, and you want to read beautiful words, just go read some mewithoutYou lyrics>

One comment

  1. I love this! It is so true. I think many people think that worship has to fit into a certain box or category, but I think we were all created very differently and have different ways of connecting. For some it may be painting or writing or hiking, but it’s all the same to him! (There’s a really cool message that Rob Bell gives about this very topic, but I can’t remember the name of it right now.)

    Oh & I sent you a FB message, but it said it would probably go to your "Other" folder, so I'm not sure you'll see it! Just wanted to let you know!

Leave a Reply

