DIY Rug

rug

I know, it’s been a while since I’ve put a project on here. Sorry! Making up for lost time, here’s a fun one for you to try! Ever since we rearranged the living room I’ve been wanting to add a on-the-big-side rug to the room. But let’s be honest, big rugs cost big money. And well, we all know that I’m thrifty, not likely to drop a lot of money on a rug. So I decided I would make my own big rug. I had actually done this before a rug in our kitchen, not nearly this size of course. So I went to a local consignment shop, bought two matching rugs ($4 each), and sewed them together. Easy.

Materials needed:

  • 2 rugs
  • needle
  • thread

First, sit in a comfy place, because it’s going to take a little while (this size rug took me about an hour to make). Then you basically just hold the rugs together and start sewing them together down the middle until you’ve attached them from one end to other. I hand sewed this rug, because the rugs were thick and I didn’t want to risk breaking my machine. This is a very basic sewing project – you don’t even need to have ever sewed before to make this. So, if you’re having rugless issues and don’t want to spend a lot of money, this is an easy fix! It cost me $8 to make my rug.

Let me know if you try this project out!

                        

Leave a Reply

