Easy Tacos

Ok, so today I made what turned out to be one of the greatest recipes I have ever made. Not only was it quick and easy, but it was DELICIOUS! I’ve had this recipe floating around in my cookbook for a few weeks now, just waiting to be made. So this morning, I decided to pull out the old crock pot and test it out.

This is basically just a chicken taco recipe, but in my opinion this recipe tasted way better than any other way I have ever made our chicken tacos. All I did for this recipe is take 2 chicken breasts out of the freezer and put them in the crock pot. Then I poured 4 cups of chicken broth on top of the chicken, and poured a packet of taco seasoning in the pot. Mixed it all around a little bit, then cooked it on low all day (which was about 7 hours). Once the chicken was done, I took it out of the crock pot, put it on a plate and shredded it with two forks. And…..THAT’S IT. Can you believe it? Really? I know how simple that sounds, and you’re probably thinking, wow that sounds really dull, but let me tell you that it was some of the most delicious chicken I have ever eaten – perfect for a taco. Have I mentioned how much our family loves tacos? Burritos? Any kind of Mexican food, period? We do.

So after shredding the chicken, we just threw some rice in the rice cooker, cooked it, and mixed in some cilantro and the juice from 1 lime. We gathered our toppings, which included: the rice, cheese, sour cream, guacamole, lettuce and salsa. Threw everything into a tortilla and ate it up, sighing of delicious enjoyment between bites. Even Olive, the lady who likes to pick at her meals, every.single.day, was taking bite after bite after bite. WE DIDN’T EVEN HAVE TO TELL HER TO EAT LIKE 10 TIMES! It was a good meal. So good.

tacos

taco2

tacos3

One comment

Leave a Reply

