DIY Heart Leggings

So if you follow children’s clothing at all, I’m sure you’ve seen those adorable leggings with the hearts on the knees. You know the ones? I fell in love with them the minute I saw them, and knew that I had to whip some up for Olive to wear, because hey, why buy them when you can make them yourself! This is a really easy project that took me no more than 30 minutes to make. Olive loved hers when I finished them. You can do this with basically any kind of cotton stretchy pants. Olive has two black pairs of leggings, so I just grabbed a pair of those and went with it. You could probably use tights too if you wanted to make some for little bitty ones. I am even thinking of making a pair for myself, so definitely don’t feel like this is restricted to only kids pants. Go on, spruce up those boring leggings!

All you need for this project is:

  • A pair of leggings
  • Fabric scraps (I used fabric from some twill pants I cut up over summer)
  • A sewing machine (although you could sew it by hand if you have the patience)

Basically you want to start out just by cutting out your two hearts from your fabric. I double mine over so that I could get both hearts in the same cut, so as to avoid any awkward, different sized hearts. Hold the hearts against your leggings laying flat and place them where your child’s  knee (or your knee!) falls. Pin the hearts in place. Here comes the most annoying part of the whole project (and it’s really not that bad). Because toddler leggings are so skinny in the legs, you have to really stretch and pay attention when you’re sewing the hearts in place because you don’t have a whole lot of room to pull the back side of the pants out of the way. So just take it slow, in order to avoid sewing the hearts all the way through both sides of the legs. Do a lap around the heart, do the other leg, and you’re done! How easy is that? Then grab your little one (or yourself) and model those fancy new leggings.

blog 3549

blog 3547

blog 3555

blog 3554

blog 3551

If you make a pair for your little one, or yourself, let me know how they turn out! Happy weekend

xoxo Sam

Leave a Reply

