A New Year

Being a mom is tough business. This means that being a mom sometimes inhibits you from finding the time to do some of the things you would like to do, simply because at the end of the day you’re so tired that the thought of squeezing anything else in there is exhausting in itself. I am guilty of this: putting things I need to do to remind myself that I am more than just a mom on the back burner. I think I have checked the same book out at the library 3 times now, just because I never make the time to read it. Well, today I checked it out for the final time, because this time I WILL make time to read it. This year is for more than just my daughter. This year is for being creative, reading books, using my camera more often (I have neglected it due to my phone’s easy camera), organization, blogging with purpose, making more time for my husband and me. By saying this, by no means am I implying that I have plans to ignore Olive or to spend less time with or on her. That would be impossible for me to do, I love her too much. What I mean is that my life has to be more than picking up toys and being exhausted at the end of the day. I feel rejuvenated and I want to grab a hold of that and run with it. This year holds so many exciting and beautiful things that I am looking forward to: Caleb and I are renewing our wedding vows with a fun ceremony with the people we love the most, four of my best friends are getting married (two couples), we enter a whole new phase of life with Olive as she turns 3 (I feel like this will be a good age), my mom and I are throwing my grandma her first birthday party in her entire life (she’s turning 80!). So many fun things. So  many exciting things. So much love. I leave 2012 behind with a happy heart, a thankful heart. This past year we formed a little family of the most amazing friends we could ever ask for, and I know we’ll be together for the rest of our lives, as cheesy as that may sound, I know it’s true. I hope to be seeing you much more often on here this year as I begin wedging more time to devote to blogging into my days. Hang in there with me, please! I hope to infuse some new types of posts, along with my usual recipes, crafts and photo sharing. I wish you all a very happy year, and I hope you may also be inspired to take a little time for yourself each day, as hard as it may seem. So here’s  glimpse at my year so far:

blog 3525

(these people are my life)

blog 3528

(she wears her tutu everywhere)

blog 3537

(olive took her first photo with my camera)

blog 3543

(our sweet boy warms my heart)

blog 3539

(a new years round of apples to apples)

blog 3542

(I am looking forward)

Leave a Reply

