Confessions of a creative mama

image
image
image

I have so many people ask me where I get my clothes, Olive’s clothes and they usually already know the answer to the question they have asked. I almost always reply with the same answer, “Thrift store.” Then most go on to tell me about how they are never able to find anything cute at the stores when they go hunting. Today I am going to give you my favorite tip on how I find the things that I do. My biggest answer to you questioners out there is that when I go into a thrift store, I don’t see things the way that they are. I look at an article of clothing, or a piece of fabric, and I see what it can be. Huge dresses can be made into fitted dresses. Vintage sheets can be turned into really cute curtains or fresh new pillows. Wide legged pants can be turned into skinny pants. Pretty scarves can make beautiful wall art. The list goes on and on. One of my favorite things to do in life is to revamp clothes that might otherwise be really ugly and unworn. I will snip sleeves here and take sides in there. Raise the hemline, or cut out a funky collar. Remove those ungodly shoulder pads and add a little something cute to the front (like a pocket or a pin). Recently I have found a new love for taking old pieces of mine that I never wear, but love love love and cannot bear to part with, and altering them down to my daughters size so that she can wear them for me. Boy, do they look cute on her too! I know what a lot of you are thinking: this all just sounds way too hard and you could never ever do it. I’m here to tell you that you couldn’t be farther from the truth. All you really need are basic sewing abilities, your pieces of clothing or fabric, a little bit of time, and eyes to look at it and see the potential that it truly has. It doesn’t deserve to live on that Goodwill hanger for the rest of it’s life, when you could take it home and make it beautiful! So, the next time you make a trip to the thrift store, promise me you will go in with new eyes and see all the possibilities around you. You just might discover your new favorite hobby in the process. Good luck, and happy thrifting!

Photos above:
1: Poncho i made Olive for Christmas out of thrifted wool trousers and the trim off a thrifted pillow.
2: An old David Bowie t-shirt of mine that I tailored down to fit Olive.
3: Adorable polka dot print skirt I thrifted that was huge when I bought it. I took in the sides and now it’s one of my favorite high waisted skirts.

Leave a Reply

